Although it is possible to install Studio 12 while an older version of Studio is still installed on the computer, it is not recommended. Studio 12 is meant to be used as the only version of Pinnacle Studio installed on the system.
NOTE 1: This only applies if you are installing from a Studio 12 Upgrade, which requires proof of previous Studio ownership. You need to make sure you have your discs and serial number of your previous Studio version before uninstalling.
NOTE 2: Uninstalling previous versions of Studio will not delete old projects or footage since these files are by default stored in the My Documents area.